Brussel Sprouts and Grits

I was watching Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations episode about the Outer Boroughs and he visited Diner Restaurant .
This place looks amazing and I will be making a trip to Williamsburg next time I’m in NYC. I am fairly certain a plate of grits topped with brussel sprouts caught my eye on their way to the table.
A combination that has never crossed my mind, but after making it I sure wish I would have come across it sooner.

I made basic stove top grits and added cheddar cheese, salt and butter.
Cut the ends off the brussel sprouts and then cut them in half. Next Saute’ pancetta in a frying pan and then add the brussel sprouts, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. I like to let them get kinda crispy, and near the end add a little water or chicken stock.

I added a few shrimp the next time I made this dish, and it also occurred to me that a poached egg on top would be nice. I am a sucker for eggs though.
IMG_3198IMG_3199

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

